Gedicht 1 Gedicht 1
Concerts for a
Music of Silence

MUSIC OF SILENCE Concerts are improvised concerts where Silence not only takes place but in addition where Silence itself is composing a language of sound.

How does the present moment sound in our hearts when a tangible SILENCE is the starting point; and what kind of singing arises out of tones due to the extension of the presence of SILENCE?

For many years, working with music and vocal performance for me as a singer has been first of all a dialogue with SILENCE – and dealing with collages, interweaving texts and contexts with each other; listening, perceiving and vocalizing the inaudible movements and thoughts traveling between different moments of time. The contents of many of my performances have dealt with contemporary or historical events.

In MUSIC OF SILENCE Concerts I lend my voice to the occurance of Silence in a very pure and concentrated manner. These concerts can be a platform or carrier for encounters with structuring, regulating, healing and intertwining facets of Silence. It is this sound and the language of music that enables a synchronization with Silence.

How to define
Applied Silence?

“Applied Silence“ is a term used to describe a performance art which deals with creating both spaces and contexts allowing SILENCE to be experienced.

Originating in the term of Applied Art, the creative term of “Applied Silence“ also encompasses many forms of everyday situations and designs of environments.

A performance of “Applied Silence“ is not merely about techniques and statements but rather embraces the freedom to leave out techniques and methods of interpretation.

By putting SILENCE to the core of the artistic form, the direction is at the same time also changed from performing to listening and therefore performance serves as a membrane.

“Applied Silence“ can subsequently be viewed as an artistic mode of perception where the necessity of SILENCE in Art can provide an answer to contemporary life.

Project Research
Space of Silence

Ongoing project research for a room for an open SPACE OF SILENCE:

This is now about looking for a church building or other suitable premises, possibly sacral architectures, in the area of Bonn / Bad Godesberg / Königswinter / Bad Honnef / Siebengebirge and Westerwald, situated closely to the Rhine.

In order to design and develop an open space of SILENCE, I am currently looking for a suitable building. MUSIC OF SILENCE Concerts which serve to promote awareness of Silence at a regular base, and which can be attended free of charge, possibly with an associated additional room for dialogue, will provide the required impetus or framework.

Within these concerts, SILENCE is the decisive element without having to be emphazised and turned into a concept, and without requiring an explanation or being spiritually absorbed. It is the intention of the project SPACE OF SILENCE to guide all relevant sounds of an encounter or our existence through the presence of SILENCE to being touched, cleansed, healed and transformed for the better, and to create a space for it.

For this specific way of discovering SILENCE that one can relate to, we need to find the suitable location as a Centre or SPACE OF SILENCE. Also in cooperation with the project “Erprobungsräume“ (Space for Testing) carried out by EKiR (Protestant Church Rhineland), we are currently looking for a church room or alternative location in the area of Bonn and surroundings, e.g. for conducting Music of Silence Concerts.

We would be very happy to hear from you regarding any comments, ideas, contacts, discussions and suitable locations.

Mailto: Rena Meyer Wiel raum.der.stille@posteo.de
or EKiR, Dr. Rebecca John Klug rebecca.john-klug@ekir.de

Sponsored by an Artist grant from the Ministry of Culture and Science as part of the NRW Corona Assistance

 

Gedicht 2 Gedicht 2
Project Voice . Silence

VOICE.SILENCE is the title of the didactic event formats I organize with regard to the subject of perception of SILENCE as it shapes and provides an environment for working with sound, form and presence.

Under the title VOICE.SILENCE working sessions with music groups (e.g. from March to December 2006 at Christuskirche, Cologne, and finally from 2016 until 2017 as part of the Academy of the Art of Sermon at the Protestant Faculty of Theology, Bonn) as well as courses, training of lectors and workshops for vocal training of the Listening Voice have taken place.

The inclusion of our perception of SILENCE as well as the vocal improvisation both provide momentum to this work. In this context, vocal training allows us to act as an instrument.

Gedicht 3 Gedicht 3
Film Concert
What makes you pause and contemplate?

In summer 2018 a SILENCE Presence Performance tour was conducted in 14 European cities addressing the question “WHAT makes you pause and contemplate?“.

Originally, the project SILENCE Presence Performance was initiated by an interest in current issues, and by a reflectiveness about how easy or difficult it is to reach us, and whether my concerns about the current state of affairs are shared. This developed into a many-voiced response expressing and addressing solidarity, helplessness, consolation, happiness and beauty. In a silent documentary film portraying the variety of answers, this response has been shared and simultaneously accompanied with a live concert several times.

This film concert is dedicated to the art of encounter, and to silent ways of an unobtrusive exchange between people:

WHAT MAKES YOU PAUSE AND CONTEMPLATE? – a universal question – was posed in form of a sculpture and in silence in public urban spaces by slowly playing the violin on a rose. The question was answered on more than 40 meters of paper; written in almost 20 languages by people of many different nationalities and backgrounds.

This 77 minute long silent film was created as a moving portrait documenting people´s reactions and various answers to the question WHAT MAKES YOU PAUSE AND CONTEMPLATE? in today´s world. The SILENCE which enables everything as well as the valuable non verbal encounters that cannot be documented in the film, are translated into the live concerts.

www.renameyerwiel.de

Performance Golden Stones

During the lockdown earlier this year, an additional “Applied Silence Performance“ was created: GOLDEN STONES in the Siebengebirge.

During long hikes GOLDEN STONES were placed in the countryside, each representing thoughts of possibilities and calls for a change of time, and especially mutual gestures of solidarity and encouragement: GOLDEN STONES, dedicated to the possible stories of encounter which will probably remain unnoticed and undiscovered.

Up to now, 31 out of 43 stones have been found and taken; 12 stones are still in the Siebengebirge, possibly found but not taken.

GOLDEN STONES can be viewed as a homage to the power and beauty of nature and silence, and as an image for pause with the not inexhaustible creation.

www.renameyerwiel.de

Gedicht 4 Gedicht 4
CONTACT

Looking forward to hearing from you about your resonances,
yours sincerely,

Rena Meyer Wiel

raum.der.stille@posteo.de

Gedicht 1 Gedicht 1
Konzerte für eine
Musik der Stille

Konzerte für eine Musik der Stille sind Improvisations-Konzerte, in deren Zentrum die Stille nicht nur stattfindet, sondern eine Klangsprache findet.

Wie klingt Gegenwart in unserem Herzen, wenn der Ausgangspunkt lebendige STILLE ist; und was für ein Gesang entsteht daraus, wenn die Töne als eine Verlängerung der Anwesenheit von STILLE entstehen?

Seit vielen Jahren sind musikalische Arbeit und Vokal-Performance für mich als Singende oft zuerst ein Gespräch mit der Stille – und ein Umgang mit Collagen, dem Ineinander von Texten und Kontexten, innerem Hören und einer Stimmgebung für die unhörbaren Bewegungen und Gedanken, die zwischen den Ereignissen der Zeit hin und herreisen. Viele meiner Vokal-Performances sind auch thematisch Zeitgeschichtlichem gewidmet.

In den Konzerten für eine MUSIK DER STILLE leihe ich die Stimme dem Geschehen-Lassen von Stille auf eine ganz pure, konzentrierte Weise.
Konzerte werden Träger einer Begegnung mit dem ordnenden, heilsamen, wissenden und webenden Wesen von Stille. Und dann sind es der Klang und die musikalische Sprache, die ein Synchronisieren mit der Stille erst ermöglichen.

Was ist angewandte Stille?

„Angewandte Stille“ bezeichnet als Kunstbegriff eine Seinsweise, eine Performance-Kunst und Formfindungen, die Räume und Kontexte für Begegnungen mit STILLE schaffen.

In Anlehnung an den Begriff der Angewandten Kunst beinhaltet der Performance-Begriff „Angewandte Stille“ auch die Gestaltung von Alltagssituationen oder Raumskulpturen.

Eine „Angewandte Stille“-Performance wendet sich an unsere kreativen Möglichkeiten, mit vertiefter Wahrnehmung STILLE zu begegnen und sich für die Begegnung zu öffnen.

Im Kunstbegriff der „Angewandten Stille“ geht es nicht um Techniken und Aussagen, sondern viel mehr um die Freiheit, Techniken und Lesarten auch weglassen zu können.

STILLE als Zentrum künstlerischer Formfindung schafft eine Umkehrung der Richtung von einer Performance, die zu Gehör bringt, zu einer lauschenden Performance als Membran.

„Angewandte Stille“ ist somit ein künstlerischer Modus von Wahrnehmung, und handelt von der Notwendigkeit von STILLE in der Kunst als eine Antwort auf Zeitgeschehen.

Projekt Recherche
Raum der Stille

Aktuelle Projekt-Recherche zu einer Raumskulptur für einen offenen RAUM DER STILLE:

Gesucht wird ein Kirchenraum oder eine andere geeignete ggfs. sakrale Architektur in der Region Bonn / Bad-Godesberg / Königswinter / Bad Honnef / Siebengebirge und Westerwald in Rheinnähe.

Für die Gestaltung eines offenen Raumes der Stille als Raumskulptur, die wesentlich der Begegnung mit STILLE gewidmet ist, wird aktuell ein entsprechendes Gebäude gesucht. Monatliche Konzerte für eine Musik der STILLE, die der Vergegenwärtigung von Stille dienen können, und die kostenfrei besucht werden können, sowie evtl. die Möglichkeit eines assoziierten Dialog-Raumes bilden die einzigen strukturierenden Impulsgebungen.

STILLE bleibt dabei maßgebliche Gestalterin, ohne dass STILLE gleichzeitig zum Konzept erhoben werden muß, einer Erklärung bedarf oder spirituell vereinnahmt wird. Intention des Projektes RAUM DER STILLE ist es, den Gesamtzusammenklang einer Begegnung oder unserer Gegenwart durch die Präsenz von STILLE berührt, gereinigt, zum Besseren anverwandelt und gelindert zu wissen – und für diese Qualität einen Ort zu schaffen.

Für diese auffindbare konkrete Weise, in der STILLE in der Welt stattfindet, auf die man sich beziehen kann, geht es darum, den geeigneten Ort zu finden, als ein Zentrum oder einen RAUM DER STILLE. Auch in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Projekt „Erprobungsräume“ der EKiR halten wir gegenwärtig Ausschau nach einem möglicherweise für diese Umgestaltung geeigneten Kirchenraum oder Ort in der Region Bonn und Umgebung.

Wir freuen uns über Hinweise, Ideen, Kontakte, Gespräche und neue Räume:
Rena Meyer Wiel  raum.der.stille@posteo.de

Gefördert durch ein Künstlerstipendium des Ministeriums für Kultur und Wissenschaft im Rahmen der NRW-Corona-Hilfen.

 

Gedicht 2 Gedicht 2
Projekt Stimme . Stille

STIMME . STILLE ist in meiner Arbeit der Titel für die didaktischen Veranstaltungsformate zum Thema der Wahrnehmung von STILLE, wie sie gestaltend lebendig ist im Entstehen-Lassen von Klang, Form und Gegenwärtigkeit.

Unter dem Titel STIMME . STILLE haben bisher sowohl Ensemble-Arbeiten stattgefunden (z.B. von März bis Dezember 2006 auf dem Labyrinth in der Christuskirche Köln, und zuletzt von 2016 bis 2017 im Rahmen der Akademie für Predigtkunst an der Ev. Theol. Fakultät Bonn in der Bonner Schlosskirche), als auch Kurse, Lektorenschulungen und Workshops für eine Stimmarbeit der Lauschenden Stimme.

Sowohl das Miteinbeziehen unseres Wahrnehmens von STILLE, als auch die Vokal-Improvisation sind darin zentrale Impulsgebungen. Stimmschulung bedeutet dann Öffnung des Instrumentes Mensch.

Gedicht 3 Gedicht 3
Filmkonzert
Wofür halten Sie inne?

Als „Angewandte Stille Performance“ fand im Sommer 2018 eine STILLE-Präsenz-Performance-Tour statt; eine Zeit-Studie in 14 europäischen Städten zu der Frage, WOFÜR wir innehalten.

Aus Interesse, womit wir gegenwärtig beschäftigt sind, wie erreichbar wir sind und ob meine Besorgnis am Zeitgeschehen geteilt wird, ist das Projekt der STILLE-Präsenz-Performance ursprünglich entstanden. Und als vielstimmige Antwort von Zusammenhalt, Ratlosigkeit, Trost, Freude und Schönheit gestaltete sich das Ergebnis, das in Form eines Film-Konzertes dokumentarisch und vokal-performativ schon mehrfach aufgeführt wurde.

Dieses Film-Konzert ist der Kunst des Begegnens gewidmet, einem Humanismus der oft leisen, zwischenmenschlichen Töne..

Die völkerverbindende Frage WOFÜR HALTEN SIE INNE? wurde im öffentlichen Stadtraum skulptural und in Stille gestellt, durch das langsame Spiel mit einem Geigenbogen auf einer Rose. Auf gleichzeitig ausliegenden Papierbahnen wurde die Frage auf igs. über 40 Metern Länge spontan beantwortet; formuliert in nahezu 20 Sprachen vor dem Hintergrund unterschiedlichster Nationalitäten und Lebenssituationen.

Als ein bewegendes Portrait der Performance-Eindrücke und der diversen Antworten darauf, wofür wir in unserer Gegenwart innehalten, ist ein 77 min. Doku-Film entstanden, dessen Aufführungen ich simultan mit einem live Vokal-Konzert begleite – die alles ermöglichende STILLE und auch die kostbaren, nicht filmisch dokumentierbaren non-verbalen Begegnungen finden in der Vokal-Performance eine Art klangliche Vermittlung.

www.renameyerwiel.de

Performance Goldene Steine

Eine weitere „Angewandte Stille Performance“ entstand in diesem Jahr während der Zeit des Lockdowns im Frühjahr: GOLDENE STEINE im Siebengebirge.

Auf weiten Wanderungen wurden in der Landschaft GOLDENE STEINE gesetzt, die jeweils Gedanken an die Möglichkeiten von und Rufe nach Zeiten-Wandel repräsentierten, sowie vor allem eine Geste der zwischenmenschlichen Verbundenheit und Ermutigung:
GOLDENE STEINE, gewidmet den möglichen Geschichten der Begegnung und des Findens, die wahrscheinlich spurlos, leise und unentdeckt bleiben werden.

Von 43 gesetzten Steinen wurden bis heute 31 gefunden und mitgenommen; 12 Steine liegen immer noch im Siebengebirge, möglicherweise gefunden und nicht mitgenommen.

GOLDENE STEINE auch als Hommage an die Kraft und Schönheit von Natur und Stille,
und als ein Innehalten mit der nicht unerschöpflichen Schöpfung.

www.renameyerwiel.de

Gedicht 4 Gedicht 4
KONTAKT

Mit besten herzlichen Grüßen
und Freude auf Eure und Ihre Resonanzen,

Rena Meyer Wiel

raum.der.stille@posteo.de